Four students named WVU Mountaineers of Distinction | WVU today


Distinguished climbers Madison Bowers, Ashley Eby, Grant DuVall and Sarah Snider are surrounded by WVU Arts & Entertainment students Tess Humbertson (left) and Claire Dursa (right) who participated in the awards show.
(WVU Photo / Brian Persinger)

The University of West Virginia has named Madison Bowers, Ashley Eby, Grant DuVall and Sarah Snider 2021 Mountaineers of Distinction. The award, presented during Mountaineer Week, recognizes exemplary academic achievement and extracurricular involvement.

These laureates, who represent a wide range of disciplines but share impressive academic achievements and experiences, were selected by a selection jury from a pool of 40 nominated students from across campus.

The four West Virginia natives were announced as the winners of this year’s Mountaineers of Distinction (formerly M./Ms. Mountaineer) during halftime of the WVU soccer match against Oklahoma State on Saturday, November 6 at Milan Stadium. Puskar.

Arbors, a fellow of Honors College at Coalton who has maintained a GPA of 4.0, is majoring in Marketing. She is the Presidential Student Ambassador, Certified Student Leader and Student Experience Coordinator with the Student Government Association. Bowers is sponsored by WVU Visitor Centers where she serves as a Tour Captain.

Eby, fellow of Honors College, Wellsburg, graduated in chemistry and biology. She is the Chief Medical Officer of the WVU Global Medical and Dental Brigades, an undergraduate researcher at the Hazlehurst Lab at the WVU Cancer Institute, and volunteers at the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center and My Health Medical Center. Eby is sponsored by Chi Omega of which she was president.

DuVall, Fellow of Honors College, Bridgeport, is majoring in Biology with a minor in Addiction Studies. He is a member of the WVU Men’s Rowing Team, Presidential Student Ambassador, Community Outreach Coordinator for Camp Kesem, and Senior Tutor for TestWELL. Duvall is sponsored by WVU Honors College where he is a student ambassador.

Snider, a PhD student in pharmacy from Parkersburg, has been a four-year member of the American Pharmaceutical Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists. She is president of the International Federation of Pharmacy Students and a member of the Rho Chi Academic Honors Society and the WVU Global Medical and Dental Brigades. Snider is sponsored by the WVU School of Pharmacy where she is a Student Ambassador.

The other Mountaineers of Distinction finalists were: Morgan Glass of Wheeling, Savannah Hays of Mineral Wells, Myya Helm of West Union, Kayla Liptrap of Ravenswood, Elizabeth Satterfield of Independence and Sarah Smith of Morgantown.

In addition to the Mountaineers of Distinction presentation, WVU’s most loyal were honored at halftime ceremonies. The 2021 winners are West Virginia’s most loyal Robert “Bob” and Nancy Douglas; Michael Manley, the most loyal alumnus; Samuel Ameri, most loyal teacher / professional staff; and Meghan Reeves, the most loyal mountaineer on staff.

The most loyal award recipients are chosen by a joint committee representing the WVU Foundation, the WVU Alumni Association, the WVU Staff Council, the WVU Faculty Senate and the Week’s organizing committee. mountaineering.


ta / 11/06/21

CONTACT: Kristie Stewart-Gale
WVU Arts & Entertainment
304-293-8221; [email protected]

Call 1-855-WVU-NEWS for the latest news and information from the University of West Virginia at WVUToday.

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.


About Author

Comments are closed.