Oncologists, hematologists elected to the National Academy of Medicine



October 30, 2021

2 minutes to read

We have not been able to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to experience this problem, please contact [email protected]

The National Academy of Medicine announced the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members.

Election to the academy – considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine – rewards individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

“It is a privilege for me to welcome this extraordinary class of new members. Their contributions to health and medicine are unmatched. They made groundbreaking discoveries, took bold action against social inequalities and led the response to some of the greatest public health challenges of our time ”, Victor J. Dzau, MD, president of the National Academy of Medicine, said in a press release. “It is also the [academy’s] the most diverse class of new members to date, consisting of approximately 50% women and 50% racial and ethnic minorities. This class represents many identities and experiences, all of which are absolutely necessary to deal with the existential threats facing humanity. “

The academy now has over 2,200 members, including over 170 international members.

Newly elected members recognized for their contributions related to hematology and oncology include:

  • Samuel Achilefu, PhD, Michel M. Ter-Pogossian Professor of Radiology and Director of the Optical Imaging Laboratory at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at the University of Washington Faculty of Medicine;
  • Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, Richard E. Wilson MD Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School, Associate Surgeon at Dana-Farber / Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center and Chair of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Group;
  • Maximilian Diehn, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Vice President of Research and Division Head of Radiology and Cancer Biology in the Department of Radiation Oncology, Stanford University School of Medicine;
  • Yuman Fong, MD, Sangiacomo Family Chair in Surgical Oncology and Chairman of the City of Hope Department of Surgery;
  • William C. Hahn, MD, PhD, Executive Vice President and COO of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and William Rosenberg Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School;
  • Mary Elizabeth Hatten, PhD, Frederick P. Rose professor and head of the developmental neurobiology laboratory at Rockefeller University;
  • Helen Elisabeth Heslop, MD, DSc (Hon), chairman of Dan L. Duncan, professor of pediatrics and medicine and director of the Center for Cell and Gene Therapy at Baylor College of Medicine;
  • Elisa Konofagou, PhD, Robert and Margaret Hariri professor of biomedical engineering and professor of radiology at Columbia University;
  • Michelle Monje, MD, PhD, associate professor in the department of neurology and neurological sciences at Stanford University Medical Center;
  • Drew Pardoll, MD, PhD, Professor Abeloff at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Director of the Bloomberg-Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy;
  • VSharles M. Rice, PhD, Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg professor and head of the virology and infectious diseases laboratory at Rockefeller University;
  • Melissa Andrea Simon, MD, MPH, George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medical Social Sciences, and Preventive Medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine;
  • Anil Kumar Sood, MD, FACOG, FACS, professor and vice president for translational research in the department of gynecologic oncology and reproductive medicine at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; and
  • JoAnn Trejo, PhD, MBA, professor of pharmacology and assistant vice chancellor of health science faculty affairs at the University of California, San Diego.



About Author

Comments are closed.